Australian Gastric Sleeve Support Forum

HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog in

Obesity in our kids- do your children show signs of problems?

Go down 
+6
sassyred
vanderaj
mammabear25
Shrinky Dink
Bella77
PiercedMumma08
10 posters
AuthorMessage
gottarhyme
Top Poster
Top Poster
gottarhyme

Female
Number of posts : 3826
Registration date : 2011-02-22

Obesity in our kids- do your children show signs of problems? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Obesity in our kids- do your children show signs of problems?   Obesity in our kids- do your children show signs of problems? EmptyTue 24 Jan 2012, 8:37 am

As a Teacher, I have seen the effects of obesity in kids. I am sorry about your experience as a child, but abuse does take many forms, not just physical.

If a kid was being starved I would say the same thing. Over stuffing a kid to the detriment of their health is tantamount to child abuse.

I am not talking about making them feel bad about their weight! I am talking about making healthy choices for them. Parents have ALL the power here!

Back to top Go down
vanderaj
Part of the furniture
vanderaj

Male
Number of posts : 498
Registration date : 2011-10-09

PostSubject: Re: Obesity in our kids- do your children show signs of problems?   Obesity in our kids- do your children show signs of problems? EmptyTue 24 Jan 2012, 8:10 am

Saying that overstuffing your kid with bad food is child abuse is a bit of a stretch, and to me trivialises actual child abuse. I don't believe it to be child abuse, as a person who was sexually abused, thankfully just the once when I was 12 at a sleep over at a friend's place.