22 posters
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
Rominus

Male
Number of posts : 25
Registration date : 2015-06-24

How long did you have off work? Empty
PostSubject: Re: How long did you have off work?   How long did you have off work? EmptyThu 25 Jun 2015, 6:19 am

Thanks HW1

i asked my surgeon and he suggested 4 weeks, so went with 5 just to be safe. The thought of doing damage when carrying a patient or doing CPR scares the crap out of me. And so does passing out when doing these things. I am a single officer response so it's not like I can get my partner to do the lifting lol.
 I work in a small station so I think I will have plenty of time to eat and drink, but will have to be very conscious of it, especially the drinking side of things.
Another thing that worries me is dehydration from exertion. Some jobs I do can go for a couple of hours, and I can be sweating buckets... Not unusual to drink 2 litres on a job in middle of summer up in Townsville, how am I going to be able to consume that much to ensure dehydration doesn't occur?
Back to top Go down
Box of Jewels
Part of the furniture
Box of Jewels

Female
Number of posts : 637
Registration date : 2015-01-14

PostSubject: Re: How long did you have off work?   How long did you have off work? EmptyThu 25 Jun 2015, 5:39 am

My surgeons office says 2 weeks for less physical jobs, 4 weeks for physical jobs, and 6 weeks for nurses.  

I laughed at that, but then they said that nurses look after everyone else's heatlh but themselves, and they should take the time, focus on themselves, and then go back.   And I thought....yeah.  It's kinda true.
Back to top Go down
theob90
theob90

Male
Number of posts : 12
Registration date : 2015-05-03

PostSubject: Re: How long did you have off work?   How long did you have off work? EmptyThu 25 Jun 2015, 5:32 am

Hi all,