AuthorMessage
darkstar
Part of the furniture
darkstar

Female
Number of posts : 1144
Registration date : 2010-01-11

Chewing gum can aid recovery Empty
PostSubject: artificial sweeteners and hunger   Chewing gum can aid recovery EmptyThu 14 Jan 2010, 1:02 am

Hi Janice,

just wanted to say you're probably not imagining that sorbitol makes you hungry.

Don't ask me to find it now, but I have heard tell of a study that found that people who drank/ate things with artificially sweeteners actually were likely to go on to consume as many calories / more calories from other foods than if they'd had a sugar-sweetened product in the first place.

The reason was that sweet flavours (however created) prime the body to expect calories, and once it's primed, it just keeps on consuming until it gets the calories it's expecting.

I'm not a scientist and I'm just remembering fragmentary factoids I overheard a year ago, so take this with a grain of salt, but I think that was the theme.

Best,

Darkstar
Back to top Go down
shifthappens

Female
Number of posts : 133
Registration date : 2009-10-28

PostSubject: Re: Chewing gum can aid recovery   Chewing gum can aid recovery EmptyWed 13 Jan 2010, 10:19 pm

Interesting about the aspartame. I'm giving it up starting next Monday so I'll see if I notice any difference. (Not sleeved yet.)