Australian Gastric Sleeve Support Forum

HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog in

I am a newbie and am joining the July sleevers.

Go down 
+4
spoggy
Finallyfreeat23
Bumbles
lifeisgreat
8 posters
AuthorMessage
Willowgirl
Part of the furniture
Willowgirl

Female
Number of posts : 526
Registration date : 2014-06-23

I am a newbie and am joining the July sleevers. Empty
PostSubject: Food on the ward   I am a newbie and am joining the July sleevers. EmptyWed 23 Jul 2014, 6:06 am

My hubby is a nurse and he said that family members bring in huge piles of junk food all the time. He is in Rehab and many of the patients are morbidly obese and can no longer carry their own weight. Nurses are not allowed to mention their diet at all. If the patient asks to see a dietician that is a different matter but if they don't address the issue themselves then the staff are not permitted to say anything, offer advice whatever. My husband is so supportive of this surgery for me because it is people like me and heavier that he is dealing with every day after strokes. It often takes 3 staff just to roll the person over to put the bedpan under if they get there in time. Strokes are a huge risk to overweight people and not reported on enough when it comes to obese people.
When I mentioned to my surgeon about wanting the surgery because of stroke, heart attack etc he just replied you are more likely to just drop dead...comforting thought.

PS. I am a Cemetery Trust Secretary and funnily enough (well not really) the last few coffins buried have been plus size.

I am a newbie and am joining the July sleevers. 878453
Back to top Go down
DayleD
Part of the furniture
DayleD

Female
Number of posts : 1076
Registration date : 2014-04-12

PostSubject: Re: I am a newbie and am joining the July sleevers.   I am a newbie and am joining the July sleevers. EmptyWed 23 Jul 2014, 12:28 am