AuthorMessage
Kateh (Bluedog)
Part of the furniture
Kateh (Bluedog)

Female
Number of posts : 1159
Registration date : 2011-10-04

Blood in your vomit? Empty
PostSubject: Re: Blood in your vomit?   Blood in your vomit? EmptyMon 23 Apr 2012, 8:30 am

Thanks everyone, got an app with the GP. Hopefully it will be nothing!
Kate
Back to top Go down
CherryRipe
Part of the furniture

Female
Number of posts : 492
Registration date : 2012-02-08

PostSubject: Re: Blood in your vomit?   Blood in your vomit? EmptySun 22 Apr 2012, 6:56 am

I hope you're feeling better and not too anxious. I'm no expert but the first thing I thought of when reading your post was ulcers - which are apparently easily treatable. Good luck with the doc.!
Back to top Go down
Melinda38
Part of the furniture
Melinda38

Female
Number of posts : 441
Registration date : 2011-09-26

PostSubject: Re: Blood in your vomit?   Blood in your vomit? EmptySun 22 Apr 2012, 6:51 am

Normally If vomitus is streaked with blood it's because of trauma. So even though it may not have been a violent spew a little damage may have been done on the way up. Especially as you've been on anti inflammatories which break down blood vessels.

I was taking big doses of NSAIDs and ended up with gastric ulcers. The blood vomit is called hematuria and is usually very fresh blood mixed with old which is a lot darker. Malena is when your poo is made up mostly of old blood and has a distinct smell. I had both within minutes and knew I was in trouble. My heart was galloping and I couldn't concentrate. Ended up in an ambulance.

Just check with your GP & surgeon. If you do do a yucky poo or big vomit which is primary blood (you will taste the iron) go to the hospital. But I'm sure you are ok. All the best xx
Back to top Go down
glenmaree
Part of the furniture
glenmaree

Female
Number of posts : 745
Registration date : 2011-05-22

PostSubject: anti-inflammatories   Blood in your vomit? EmptySun 22 Apr 2012, 5:51 am