4 posters
AuthorMessage
FNM
FNM

Female
Number of posts : 105
Registration date : 2011-06-11

Medica Centre Hurstville Empty
PostSubject: Medica Centre Hurstville   Medica Centre Hurstville EmptyTue 30 Aug 2011, 12:40 pm

Outstanding experience.

The centre is only a couple of months old so everything was brand-spanking new. There were about a dozen single rooms on my floor. Only 5 were occupied while I was there. There was one other gastric sleeve and the others were rehabilitating after hip or knee surgery. There were at least two staff at all times. To say that I was waited on hand-and-foot was an understatement! I was checked on so regularly that I rarely had to ring for anything.

My room was a good size with a view of Hurstville Library (which I appreciated as I am a Librarian Medica Centre Hurstville 65317) The bed was comfortable and I had a large plasma TV with Foxtel on the wall. I have been to hotels with less amenities! Food came from somewhere else in the building. The menu had lots of interesting choices (which I couldn't have) they did bring me Up & Go, gourmet gluten-free ice cream, jelly and custard on my final morning.

After the operation I was given two shots of pain killers even though I wasn't in pain (my Doctor orders) That night I had terrible shoulder-tip pain. Unfortunately, the Doctors instructions said no more strong pain killers. The nurses tried massage, walking with me up and down the corridor and heat packs and when I was still in pain they took it upon themselves to ring my Doctor and get permission to give me another injection. They then hunted down the Registrar and got me the injection which I am very grateful for. This is typical of the care and understanding I received the whole 4 days.

One of the nurses had previously had a gastric sleeve with my Doctor so was a hugely valuable and reassuring presence.

I got the impression that the centre was VERY KEEN to keep my Dr's business.

Back to top Go down
Newstart65
Newstart65