7 posters
AuthorMessage
joeylfg
joeylfg

Female
Number of posts : 109
Registration date : 2014-01-20

Hello from me Empty
PostSubject: Next Wednesday meeting   Hello from me EmptyThu 30 Jan 2014, 12:13 pm

Hello FGT

I am also a newbie from Melbourne & next Wednesday I am also attending an info session down South East Melbourne way..  So if you're at the same one, I'll see you there!

Cheers Jo
Back to top Go down
Fatgirlthin

Female
Number of posts : 47
Registration date : 2014-01-25

Hello from me Empty
PostSubject: Re: Hello from me   Hello from me EmptyWed 29 Jan 2014, 9:01 pm

jagxclusive wrote:
Hi fatgirlthin,

You sound similar to me -- similar bmi and issues. Just want to tell you to keep a close eye on your TSH results. I quickly lost about 20kg (between opti and after surgery) and my levels plummetted. I have only managed about 4 full nights sleep since my op, and am barely surviving on 2-3 hours a day, or dropping to sleep from exhaustion at odd times due to the thyroid imbalance. I am yet to feel 'energetic' as a result of my weight loss - i am truly so tired all the time but can't sleep, (can't lose weight if I don't sleep and am hungry in the middle of the night because I am awake!). Due to the weight loss I have had to lower my thyroxine dose, but it takes 6 weeks to recheck the levels and may need to drop again.  I'm reducing dosage slowly through my gp, and as I lose more weight I will have to keep re checking. Look up other medical issues in this forum, and search 'hashimotos' or 'thyroid', you will find it helpful. 

I originally had major sleep and lethargy issues due to weight and hashi's, but now it's purely from being too wired on too much thyroxine stopping me sleep and leaving my body lethargic but my brain buzzing! Not everyone goes through what I have, but I wish my expectations were more realistic. I know it will even out eventually, but I didn't expect to feel like this.

All the best and welcome to the site.