Top Poster
Top Poster
lin1970

Female
Number of posts : 3316
Registration date : 2011-11-18

over eating Empty
PostSubject: Re: over eating   over eating EmptyWed 19 Jun 2013, 2:27 pm

I'm nearly 1 yr out and I'm still learning.

Don't worry about your tummy stretching, you'd have to treat it like shite and it wouldn't happen so quickly if it ever did.

Jodes - are you eating pasta? I'm surprised your surgeon/dietician said you could as it has only been awhile since you had your op. I think most people are told to avoid rice, pasta, breads for some time. See what your surgeon says.

breenaluber - if you are worried or have qs call your surgeon and ask for clarification on what you can eat.

I saw my surgeon about 3weeks ago and he says even being this far out I still should only be able to eat 1/2cup per seating. For the last 5 days I have been focusing on (I lost my focus for awhile) :

a )not drinking within half hr of food, as this allows my stomach to feel the sensation of fullness and stops food been flushed through to the small intenstine. (I am allowed a few sips with food if I feel like I have a dry mouth but I have found if the food has some moisture I don't need too).

b) mindful eating - I ensure the tvs off and I don't have distractions (besides my daughters chatter, hard to find the off switch lol). I use the portion control bowl/plate and small kids cutlery. I find if I close my eyes and focus on chewing I am aware of the full feeling and am getting better at noticing my little 'burp' when my tums says enough. Depends on what I eat I don't even get through 1/2cup so may go back later to finish it.

c) keeping track of food triggers. I can binge out of boredom, old habits etc. So  I need to be careful what I let in the house even if my daughter likes certain things. Also knowing what times I am vunerable is important for me.

Hope this helps abit